Top 5 Tuesday | 5 Star Predictions

It’s Top 5 Tuesday! I’m so excited about this topic! I’m excited because I can’t wait to see what books everyone chooses. This is definitely a topic of discussion and I love it. If you’d like to join in on this meme, it is hosted by the lovely Shanah @ Bionic Book Worm. Even if you don’t want to join Top 5 Tuesday, you should check out her blog. Now let’s get started!

Discover this exquisite poetry and prose collection about the pains of growing up from the popular millennial Instagram poet, perfect for fans of Amanda Lovelace and Rupi Kaur.

Following her breakout debut Eighteen Years, poet Madisen Kuhn is thrilled to share this intimate portrait of a young woman navigating early adulthood and leaving her teenage years behind.

Chronicling the complexities, joys, and challenges of this transitional phase of life, Please Don’t Go Before I Get Better is a powerful, deeply affecting work that pierces your heart with its refreshing candor and vulnerability. A poignant exploration of self-image, self-discovery, and self-reflection, this anthology brilliantly captures the universal experience of growing up, and you are bound to find yourself reflected in these glimmering pages.

Im really interested in reading this book of poetry. I was caught by the cover and the description. The cover is simple and pretty. I haven’t read many books like this, but I think I will enjoy this one. I also think it’s awesome that it’s written by such a young author. I can’t wait to get into this book and see if it lives up to my prediction of deserving a 5 star rating.

Venus Black is a straitlaced A student fascinated by the study of astronomy—until the night she commits a shocking crime that tears her family apart and ignites a media firestorm. Venus refuses to talk about what happened or why, except to blame her mother. Adding to the mystery, Venus’s developmentally challenged younger brother, Leo, goes missing.

More than five years later, Venus is released from prison with a suitcase of used clothes, a fake identity, and a determination to escape her painful past. Estranged from her mother, and with her beloved brother still missing, she sets out to make a fresh start in Seattle, skittish and alone. But as new people enter her orbit—including a romantic interest and a young girl who seems like a mirror image of her former lost self—old wounds resurface, and Venus realizes that she can’t find a future while she’s running from her past

I’ve heard nothing but good things about this book. I think it could definitely be a 5 Star Book. I love the cover of this book it’s so cute. From the description, it sounds like there’s a lot going on in this book. I just hope it’s written well and keeps me interested. I’m really looking forward to reading this one.

Jade Fulton and Ethan Garrett are opposites in every sense of the word. Ethan is an all-American poster boy—a star athlete dating the most popular girl in school and a devout Christian. Jade keeps mostly to herself. She abhors joining “things,” hates everyone at their high school except her best friend, Gia, and considers herself agnostic.

When Ethan and Jade find themselves locked in an aerobics room overnight, their confinement forces them to push past the labels they’ve given each other. Jock. Loner. Jesus freak. Skeptic. Golden boy. Intellectual. Amid hours of arguing, philosophizing, and silly game playing, Ethan and Jade learn there’s a lot more to the other person than meets the eye.

After that night, life returns to normal and each goes back to their regular lives. Still, neither one can shake the unexpected bond they formed and they can’t help but question what they’ve been taught to believe, who they want to be, and where their hearts truly lie.

This book sounds really cute. I like the way this author writes, so I’m not to worried about not liking this book. The description has me intrigued. I definitely feel like this book could get a 5 Star review. I like stories like this, two people who are the complete opposite who come together, it’s always interesting. I’m excited to start this book soon.

Two hundred and twenty years—that’s how long Zyan has been alive. And still he cannot escape Carter, his on-and-off something that he’d prefer to never see again. And yet wants to see always. Over two hundred years should be enough time to fix his relationship drama, but Zyan’s as helpless and frustrated as ever.

Jessica hates to watch Carter, her best friend, go through the misery of his and Zyan’s complicated past yet again. Determined to see the two reconcile once and for all, she sets out to make that come about. She doesn’t expect her efforts to run right into Ava, Zyan’s best friend

This sounds like a love story similar to Luce and Daniel from Fallen by Lauren Kate, “I’ve loved you for hundreds of years and I can’t escape you no matter how hard I try” kind of story. I love those kinds of stories. I may be wrong though, I only have the description to go on right now. We will have to see!

A powerful, captivating story about Alice, who is reaching out to express herself through her beautiful-broken words, and Manny who is running to escape his past. When they meet they find the tender beginnings of love and healing.

Alice is fifteen, with hair as red as fire and skin as pale as bone, but something inside her is broken. She has acquired brain injury, the result of an assault, and her words come out slow and slurred. But when she writes, heartwords fly from her pen. She writes poems to express the words she can’t say and leaves them in unexpected places around the town.

Manny was once a child soldier. He is sixteen and has lost all his family. He appears to be adapting to his new life in this country, where there is comfort and safety, but at night he runs, barefoot, to escape the memory of his past. When he first sees Alice, she is sitting on the rusty roof of her river-house, looking like a carving on an old-fashioned ship sailing through the Stars.

This book sounds really good and deserving of a 5 Star rating. I can’t wait to read it and find out. The cover is really pretty too. I haven’t actually gotten this book yet, but I really hope I do. (I requested it on NetGalley). Hopefully I will know soon!

Well, these are my 5 Star predictions. Do you agree? Have you already read any of these? What are some of your 5 Star predictions?

Description credit: Goodreads

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Tuesday | 5 Star Predictions

  1. Pingback: Top 5 books I predict will be 5 star reads! – Bionic Book Worm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s